Menominee-Delta-Schoolcraft COMMUNITY ACTION AGENCY

Governing Board Meeting Thursday May 23, 2024 Community Action Agency Escanaba MI 10:00 a.m. ET

MINUTES

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 am ET and a quorum noted with the following in attendance.

MEMBERS PRESENT

Jennifer MacDonald, Menominee Craig Reiter, Schoolcraft Susan Kleikamp, Menominee Connie Maule, Menominee John Stapleton, Schoolcraft Marie Whitmire, Menominee Fran Majestic, Schoolcraft John Malnar, Delta Myra Croasdell, Delta Mary Lu Gaudette, Delta Robin Double, Schoolcraft

MEMBERS EXCUSED

Michael Peitsch Jeff Waeghe Mia Smith Patricia Meuller

MEMBERS ABSENT

Jessica Flory-Whitmer Kristyn Coppock

OTHERS PRESENT

Gary Willoughby, Executive Director
Dianne Gartland, Admin Assistant
Jessica Grenfell, Deputy Finance Director
Kris Thibeault, Finance Director
Lori Giuliani, RSVP Director
Lannie Berg, Welcome Newborns
Hannah Micheau, Emergency Services
Peggy Ramsden, FGP Director
Brenda Moya, Weatherization Director
Maty Thibeault, Homeless Services
Myra Smeester, HS/EHS Director
Kristie Stenlund, Sr Services Director
Helen Corbett, HR Director
Caitlyn Wicklund, ECP HR
Renee

PRESENT BY ZOOM

Paula Bedford - Rehmann Hank Steiro - Rehmann

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Marie Whitmire to approve the agenda as presented seconded by Jennifer MacDonald: Motion Carried.

PRESENTATION OF THE CAA FINANCIAL AUDIT FOR FY ENDING 9/30/2023

Paula Bedford and Hank Steiro from Rehmann presented the Financial Audit for FY ending 9/30/2023. A motion was made to accept the CAA Financial Audit for FY ending 09/30/2023 as presented by Johns Stapleton, seconded by Myra Croasdell; Motion Carried.

APPROVAL OF THE CONSENT AGENDA

Members received copies of the following items for their review. The Consent Agenda was approved with a motion from Susan Kleikamp, seconded by Jennifer MacDonald; Motion Carried.

- April 25, 2024 CAA Governing Board Minutes
- March 2024 CAA Accounts Payable Schedule
- HS/EHS 03/27/2024 Policy Council Minutes

ACCEPTANCE OF GARY WILLOUGHBY AS THE NEW EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Chair introduced Gary Willoughby as the new Executive Director of MDSCAA to the Governing Board. A motion to accept Gary Willoughby as the new Executive Director of MDSCAA with a starting date of 05/28/2024 was made by Marie Whitmire, seconded by Connie Maule; Motion Carried.

ACCEPTANCE THE OF BID RESULTS FOR THE FY 2024-2026 FINANCIAL AUDIT

The chair called on Kris Thibeault for more information. A motion was made by Fran Majestic, seconded by Myra Croasdell, to accept the recommendation of the Finance Committee to go with Gabridge for the FY 2024-2026 Financial Audit; Motion Carried.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENCY RISK ASSESSMENT PLAN

All members received a copy of the agency's proposed Risk Assessment Plan for their review. The Chair called on Myra Smeester for more information. The Risk Assessment Plan is part of the Organization Standards that we are required to do. A motion was made by Marie Whitmire to approve the Agency Risk Assessment Plan as presented, seconded by Susan Kleikamp; Motion Carried.

ACCEPTANCE OF THE HS/EHS COLA GRANT

All Board members received a copy of the HS/EHS Cola Grant for their review. The Chair called on Myra Smeester for more information. A motion was made by Jennifer MacDonald to accept the HS/EHS Cola Grant of 2.35% as presented, seconded by Marie Whitmire; Motion Carried.

APPROVAL TO APPLY FOR THE HS/EHS FY2025 NON-COMPETING BASELINE GRANT

The Chair called on Myra Smeester for more information. A motion was made by Myra Croasdell, seconded by Mary Lu Gaudette, to approve the request to apply for the HS/EHS FY2025 Non-Competing Baseline Grant; Motion Carried.

ACCEPTANCE OF THE ECP DIRECTOR'S REPORT

The Chair called on Myra Smeester for her report. A motion was made by Marie Whitmire to accept the ECP Director's report as presented, seconded by Myra Croasdell; Motion Carried.

OTHER BUSINESS

No other business was discussed.

PUBLIC COMMENT

No public comments were made.

BOARD COMMENT

No board comments were heard.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion to adjourn was made by Mary Lu Gaudette supported by Susan Kleikamp; Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 10:41 am ET

Next meeting is scheduled July 25, 2024 at 10:00 am ET.